//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, NYC

2015 Has Arrived!

It’s a new year again, and I feel like it’s an appropriate time to finally post something.  It’s been a crazy few months as I adjust to my new position at work and try to find my footing.  I’m also living with Mr. Librarian now, so every other weekend involves adorable twin boys monopolizing my time.

All that aside, I want to take a moment to take stock of 2014 and my hopes/goals for 2015.  2014 was a big year for me and deserves to be noted.  During the course of 365 days I:

– settled into and excelled at my job in an arts non-profit

– curated my first full exhibition including five amazing artists

– moved in with Mr. Librarian (and brought Ginger!)

– succeeded in surviving “Thunderdome” with Mr. Librarian for over 6 months

– got a promotion, which means that I now run all of the programming for the organization, after only a little more than a year of working there

– have met a lot of incredible artists and arts administrators who have enriched my life

– seriously started cooking real food – it’s even better that there’s now someone else to eat it

– moved closer to paying off the last of my debt

– had a lot of really amazing moments, days, nights with my fabulous friends

My hope, as always, is that 2015 will be even better.  The past few months has really solidified for me that I need to keep reaching and striving for goals in life and keep dreaming.  When I started this blog, I had some very specific goals which I have revisited every year.  I think that things have changed enough for me over the past few years that I need to make some new goals just for 2015.

1) Give time and energy to my creative life.  I’ve been so busy with work that I’ve neglected my creative pursuits, this blog included.  I have put so much energy into my that I feel like that’s all that I think about, and while I love my job and think that it’s important, it can’t be all that I do.  I want to curate more, discuss my ideas, and paint again.

First things first, I want to get my crafty on and make a vision board for the year.  Vision boards were recommended to me by a former intern a few months ago who runs a freaking awesome blog about the greatness of women.  She created one along with concrete goals, and it helped her to jumpstart her life goals.  I will admit that it’s a little self-help for me, but I’m into it.

I’ve also been talking about wanting to learn to knit or crochet for a while now, and I think it’s time that I took the plunge.

2) Focus on my health.  2014 was a pretty healthy year for me overall, but it went out with a bang with the cold to end all colds.  Even before this cold (which I have had for 11 days and counting), I knew that I needed to refocus myself on my health.  Show myself a little self-love, so to speak.  I need to eat better, and I really need to exercise.  I realize that it’s one of the most used resolutions, ever, but it doesn’t make it any less true or important.

3) Keep on cooking!  I want to keep experimenting with cooking and expand my repertoire.  My ideal is to focus even more on the healthy aspects (in keeping with #2), but I also want to continue to find my groove and experiment.  There are so many recipes to be found online now that there’s no excuse not to cook as much as possible.  Plus, now I have someone else to feed so when I cook something big, I don’t need to eat it all.

4) See more art!  Right now, I want to commit to two non-work related events/exhibitions per month. My goal will be to increase that but let’s start there.

5)  Revamp the blog.  I want to create an online presence that is more professional so I will be starting something new as ArtGirlNYC and changing the name of this blog.  I’m still working out the new name and face for this blog, but I’m hoping to do the change this January or early February.

6) Find my financially powerful inner-woman.  I want to build a future with Mr. Librarian, and in order to do that, I need to pay close attention to my financials and start systematically saving toward that goal.  I want our future to include a bigger apartment and then a house, someday, so there’s no time like the present to begin.

7) Make more time for friends and family.  Since I moved from Queens to Brooklyn, I’ve seen less of my Queens lady friends, and I rarely see my college friends in Connecticut.  I want to make more of an effort to stay in touch.

What do you think? What are your goals for 2015?

Happy New Year!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

