//
you're reading...
Books, Daily Life of Me, Dating, NYC

And now I’m two!

Happy New Year from ArtGirlNYC world, and happy two-year blogiversary to me!  In keeping with tradition, I want to take a moment to look back at the roots of this blog, started in 2012, to see how far I’ve come.  I feel like it’s become cliched to say “I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions,” but I never really have been.  That being said, I started this little blog to try to change some things in my life that I wasn’t happy with and to share that experience.  So every now and then, and around my blog’s anniversary, I revisit those goals.  This year, it really made me realize how far I’ve come in so many ways.  It’s been a struggle, but I finally feel like I’m going places.

1) Cook one new recipe a week and try to make them healthy (I’ve always wanted to know how to cook)

Since starting my new job, I have been trying to make soups on Sundays to eat during the week. Or I had been until recently; I do need to start up again.  Because I get home late and am usually starving, creative dinners are a stretch so I need to look up some healthy, quick meals.

2) LOVE MYSELF (easier said than done)

This is one place where I think I have grown the most.  I have come into my own in a lot of ways. I hear people’s impressions of me at work, and I don’t recognize the person that they’re talking about.  I’ve changed so much in the past few years and really found myself. I may still be an anxious spaz who still deals with depression, but it’s New York so I’m in good company.

3) Actually go to the gym (I’m going to aim for 2-3 times a week.)  Running helps the anxiety

I have not done this, and my butt is steadily growing as a result.  I sit much more than I used to, and I need to get myself moving.

4) Take yoga classes.  I’ll aim for 1 per week (again, anxiety) – this will be difficult because I don’t like to do group things by myself

See the answer above.  I miss stretching.

5) Go to a real concert (I’ve never been)

Still haven’t been, but Mr. Librarian is a music fanatic and has vowed to rectify this situation.

6) Learn to knit (I’ve always wanted to)

Still have not learned, but if I gave it a shot now, I would have lots of train time to practice.

7)  Buy some fancy (and matching) underwear

Hasn’t happened yet, but it is the Annual Sale at Victoria’s Secret.

8) Date – I have not been on a real date in over a year.  Dating terrifies me.  Most of the time, I’m happy with my own space and being alone, but at the same time, I’m know that I avoid the whole dating scene because I don’t like it.  This needs to change.  I need to get out there again.

I have been dating Mr. Librarian for over a year.  Guess we’re monogamous at this point, and I can erase this one off the list.

9) Do some fun-colored chunky highlights in my hair (even temporary) – this could be difficult because I started a new job recently

I have once again started a new job, but I’m still open to the highlights.  I would like some red ones once I get up the courage to actually do it.

10) Take one risk a month (keep track!)

In my job, I’m constantly dealing with new people and trying to learn new things. That’s enough risk for right now.

11) Read (try for one book a week) – I’ll use Good Reads to keep track (maybe try for some classics…maybe not)

Thanks to my commute, according to Good Reads, I have read 48 books in 2013. Most of them were probably read in the past three months.

11) Draw.  It relaxes and centers me so I should put some time into it.

I still haven’t been drawing but I should make more of an effort to do so.

12) Actually work on my social anxiety exercises.  Part of this is exercising and yoga, but I also need to do the reaffirmations and mediation.

Totally not doing these, but I am improving so I must be doing something right.

13) Do some photoshop work.  I always enjoy it when I do it, so I should make some banners and harrass fanfic authors with them…

I have a Mac as of…well, a few months after I wrote the original post with this list.  I am experimenting with Photoshop at work though, and now that there’s a monthly online subscription for the program, maybe I will revisit this.

14) Practice my french.  I used to be able to speak it and even studied abroad, so I should get back to that point

Nope. Hasn’t happend.

And the goals that I added last anniversary:

15) Work on becoming financially independent.  I don’t need to have my whole life figured out, but I do need to work more.

I now have a full-time job and a freelance position.  I have too much work, but it’s a good feeling.  I’m still not fully financially independent, but I am in a much better position than I was this time last year.

16) See more art.  I live in a city with so much art, and I don’t see nearly enough of it.  The only way I’m going to be able to advance in my career is to see art and network with people.

I still need to see more art. I work in the arts, but I feel like I don’t go out and see much.  I hate reading all of these “Best Art Shows of 2013” lists and realizing how much I’m missing out on.

17) The artist group that I have worked with is going to remain small, and I have accepted that.  We are going to be able to put on shows again, but the organization will not grow.  I have to acknowledge that and look into new curatorial opportunities.

I did acknowledge it, and now I have a new job.  I get to work with artists everyday and curate exhibitions and programming.  I still need to expand my network, but I’m happy with what I’ve achieved.

There’s a lot to be proud of, and on this anniversary of my two years blogging, I am very proud.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

