//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, NYC

Hit the 5 Year Mark

They say it takes 10 years to become a real New Yorker.  Well, I’m half way there as of Sunday.

New York City

I have managed to survive New York for 5 years, and honestly, I don’t know where the time went.  Sometimes it feels like I’ve lived here for a lifetime, and sometimes it feels like I just arrived.  I’ve lived in Brooklyn, Roosevelt Island, and Astoria – want to guess which one was creepiest?

I’ve definitely had my highs and lows in the past 5 years.  I started out in an over-priced apartment in Brooklyn while I got my masters from a great program that I thought would help to launch my career.  It probably could have (it did for many of my classmates), but I got shot down for a job that I wanted and took it too personally.  I let it destroy my self-confidence, and it led to almost of year of unemployment.  Obviously not a highlight of my time here.  Unfortunately, my unemployed status coincided with my stint on Roosevelt Island, living with anti-social people whom I was not friends with.  Needless to say, it was a lonely, depressing time for me.  Despite that fact, I’m grateful for the experience of my masters program.  I loved every moment of it and learned so much.  Plus, it was the catalyst for my entrance to New York.

After that, I managed to get a babysitting job and a sublet in my current apartment, which led to a permanent apartment in Astoria with roommates who took me into their home and their lives.  I also found an internship with a group of artists that has led to some of my most important friendships in New York.  Over the past 3 years, I’ve had several jobs, built up my friendships, and found love. I’ve also been given one 2 cats by former roommates looking to pawn them off.

Duo of Cats

I was really lost when I came to NYC, and though I have not found my path in all aspects of my life, I have faith that I’m getting there. Hopefully.

Happy 5 Years to Me!

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

