//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me

Iced Coffee Makes the World Go Round

Look at me! I cold brewed my own iced coffee.  I feel so accomplished and fancy (which, I admit, is a little sad.)  I got the instructions from the awesome blog The Nourishing Gourmet, and I’ve laid out the journey below, with my edits.

You need:

1 1/3 cup of fresh finely ground coffee (My coffee snob friends would recommend some awesome beans and grinding them yourself, but I just went to the grocery store. No complaints here.)
4 cups of filtered water

Coffee Mixture

1. Combine ground coffee and water in a mason jar or French press. Stir to combine well. Cover and leave for at least 8 hours, and up to 24 hours at room temperature.  It looks gross (see above), but I felt pretty accomplished, especially since my kitchen is a sauna so it was a feat of endurance.  Plus it’s the first time that my roommate’s Kombucha kit’s giant jar has been used for anything other than holding flowers.

Coffee Sieve

2. Put a coffee filter in a fine sieve over a small mixing bowl or 4 cup measuring cup. Slowly pour coffee through the filter. This is your coffee concentrate.  I used a mason jar and a coffee filter – at first.  I don’t know if it was the quality of the filter or if it just became to heavy, but the stupid thing tore apart.  I originally intended to use the metal filter from my coffee maker until I remembered that it isn’t a cone-shaped bottom so that idea was a bust.  I eventually had to repeat the process with a sieve.  Again, in the heat-stroke inducing kitchen.

Finished Coffee Product

3. Keep refrigerated. To serve, dilute to preference. A one-to-two ratio is common (one-third coffee concentrate, two-thirds water). For a stronger cup of coffee, use a one-to-one ratio.

It will keep at least one week.

Yield: 4 cups of concentrate (makes at least 8 cups of coffee).

I’ve only made 3 of these glasses (not huge when you consider the ice), and I’m over half-way done with the concentrate. Of course that just means that I’m using too much of it, which could explain why I had the jitters this morning…

Try it yourself and enjoy!

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

