//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Uncategorized

Did you miss me?

I know it’s been a long time.  I’ve thought about writing many times and have even sat down and started posts that have remained unfinished.  I’ve been reading a lot, and I have been trying to find inspiration in these authors.  I will be posting in the near future about Rona Jaffe’s The Best of Everything. Spoiler alert: I loved it right up until the end.

Essentially, right now, I am sitting on my bed and just trying to write.  I have a million things that I need to do, and my room is the definition of chaos, but I need to write. I miss it, and I need to break through this wall in my head.  I also need to not kill the cat that is screaming to be let out of my air conditioned room so she can go die of heat stroke in the living room.  Idiot minion.

Things have been all over the place for me lately.

Mr. Librarian and I are getting more serious – he met my parents and sister.  This means that I disclosed his age (44) to my parents, and my mom’s head didn’t explode!  We were supposed to take our first vacation together over July 4th, but due to unexpected complications, the trip had to be postponed.  We still had a really great week, and I feel closer to him than ever.

I have a new roommate, a new lease, and (hopefully) old bed bugs.  June was a roller-coaster of a month, and my clothes are still in bags.

As I mentioned, I’ve been reading a lot.  And I still need to make my book list for Cape May.

I’ve been trying to work as much as possible, which leads to odd hours and an ever changing schedule.  Because of this, I have not seen as much of my friends as I would like.

I have come to terms with my job situation and am developing a new outlook (which I will share once it terrifies me a tiny bit less.)

I have not been seeing nearly enough art.  I have seen the El Anatsui exhibit at the Brooklyn Museum (loved it), and the roof top installation at the Met (looks like an intricately detailed, flower-designed blood bath – not impressed.)

I talk to the cats.

Obviously, you haven’t been missing much about what is going on inside my head.  It’s a scary place, but as I’ve come to realize over the past year and a half, this blog is a great outlet for someone who spends a tad too much time in her own skull.

Interestingly, as I was making dinner tonight (and in the middle of writing this), I came across a post about The Creative Slump and ways to overcome it on xoJane.  Totally worth a gander.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

