//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Family

According to Mom…

I went home last weekend and somehow my mom and I got onto one of her new favorite topics: my ex, Mr. Republican, and his resemblance to actor, Martin Freeman.

Hobbit Premiere

Now, there’s nothing particularly wrong with Martin Freeman.  He’s cute, and I loved his role in Love Actually.

Love Actually

The issue comes in when your mother starts to remind you every time she sees you that she saw an ad for “that hobbit movie” starring that “little nebbish guy” who looks like your ex.

the hobbit 2

Yes, my mom feels that the man I dated for over three years resembles a hobbit.

Now, bear in mind, she told me about her whole “hobbit theory” before I saw went to see The Hobbit with Mr. Librarian.  Picture it: I’m sitting in the theater watching the never-ending hobbit movie (and occasionally dozing off – don’t worry, they were still running when I woke up), and every time Bilbao Baggins comes on screen, all I can think is “Mr. Republican.”  It was irritating to say the least. Not to mention slightly awkward.

But rest assured, mom doesn’t always compare the ex to a hobbit. Sometimes she brings up Martin Freeman’s role in Sherlock Holmes:

Sherlock Holmes

I’ve heard that he’s great in the role, but my mother focuses on the fact that she thinks he is gay.

So there you have it.  According to my mom, I dated a nebbish, gay, hobbit.  And the worst part about him according to her?  We haven’t already covered it yet?  Nope.

The worst part is that he is a Republican.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “According to Mom…

  1. Hahaha

    Posted by B | March 7, 2013, 1:13 pm
  2. I guess it’s a good thing he’s an ex. Imagine if he became your husband! And the father of her grandchildren!

    Posted by bossymoksie | March 7, 2013, 10:26 pm
  3. hahaha 😀 your mom is really funny 😀

    Posted by nea barabea (@neabarabea) | March 25, 2013, 3:00 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

