//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me

Bring out the resolution making time

It’s the new year and people have stopped thinking about the highs and lows of last year and started to focus on their resolutions for this one.  I will be covering this past year in my anniversary post on January 9th (one year for my blog.)

Overall, I don’t believe in resolutions.  We make them and often can’t keep them because while great in theory, they’re unrealistic (like going to the gym everyday, no more online shopping, and eating no salt, meat,  carbs, or anything that makes life worth living.)  I have a friend who believes that instead of making resolutions, you should start the year by choosing to do something for yourself, to improve your life.  For instance, if you like to entertain but never find the time, decide to host a dinner party every two months for friends. So I’m taking her idea and going with it.

I need to confront my fear of the phone.  I hate talking on the phone, especially calling people.  Over the past 10 years, I have overcome many aspects of my social anxiety, but the fear of the phone is one of those things that I just haven’t been able to get past.  Even making doctor’s appointments is difficult for me.  You know you’re important to me if I will voluntarily call you.  I routinely avoid making phone calls and will email whenever possible.  Although this has drawbacks in my personal life, it has made my work life increasingly difficult.  I have worked around it in large part, but I have almost always held jobs that involve speaking on the phone at one point or another.  In my current job, among other things, I need to make sales over the phone.  Sales in general is not my forte, but add in the phone, and I’m fucked.

Which us brings us to today.  As of today, I have been in this job for one year, and I’m pretty proud of that fact.  It hasn’t been easy, and I have come a long way.  But because I am such a phone-phobe, I avoided doing something as simple as making a phone call for information and as a result, screwed something else up royally.  There was no reason for the avoidance, but I put it off and tried email because I didn’t want to make a phone call, and tomorrow I will have to answer for it.

This isn’t the first time, and it needs to end. So that’s what my goal (for lack of a better word) is for the coming year.  I will overcome this.  I have to.

Happy New Year!

happy new year

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Bring out the resolution making time

  1. Sounds like you WANT to overcome the challenge that you’re experiencing! I’m wishing you all the best! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Posted by Scott Burns Kahler, MA, LMFT | January 3, 2013, 4:20 am
  2. I think people like the idea of resolutions, but not the work or changes they’d have to make to make it real.
    I’m sure you’ll nip this challenge in the bud.

    Posted by bossymoksie | January 9, 2013, 11:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

