//
you're reading...
Dating

The Talk

Holding Hands

Remember in elementary school when you liked someone and (yes!) they liked you too?  Maybe your friends arranged it or you passed a note and then suddenly, you were dating.  It was magical.  And then we grew up and things got complicated.

Mr. Librarian and I have been going out for almost two months, and things are still going really well.  Last weekend he even saw a flash of irritable me, which led him to say that I give more “looks” than any person he has ever met.  I have decided to see this in a positive (and true) light.  We are still learning things about each other and are moving slow because we only get to see each other once a week. Friends have started asking me when we’re going to have “the talk,” and the truth is, I don’t know.  I want it to happen organically, but I’m not hopeful.  And what if it’s too soon?    How do you even broach the subject?  It feels so strange to just bring it up out of the blue.

Any advice? When do you have “the talk” as an adult?  How do you begin?

Discussion

4 thoughts on “The Talk

  1. I hate the talk. Why are your friends all up on this talk? It should happen organically (I prefer to let him bring it up). Are you insecure or unsure as to where you two stand? Have you been giving more than your relationship warrants? Is he not making you feel secure in the relationship? Usually girls want to do the talk if they are acting like they are in a couple and the guy is not.When it comes to a man, look at his actions. If he is treating you like his girlfriend? How does he introduce you to his friends?
    Like you said, it’s only been two months and you see each other once a week. That’s 8 interactions! Not a lot. So enjoy and have fun and learn about each other! And don’t play yourself. Meaning don’t do things you would do for a boyfriend until he announces that he is your boyfriend!

    Posted by bossymoksie | December 5, 2012, 3:06 am
    • Thanks for the advice. I’ve decided to let it just play out. A lot of the time he acts like a boyfriends, but honestly, the label doesn’t matter to me. I’m happy where I am. I was getting pressure from other people to have “the talk,” and it was making me nuts so I wanted some more opinions.
      Thanks for weighing in!

      Posted by artgirlnyc | December 6, 2012, 1:56 am
  2. Depends if he already kissed you or not 😉 😉 At least 3 times though 😛 That would be for me the time to have the talk 😛

    Posted by nea barabea (@neabarabea) | March 25, 2013, 3:06 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers

