//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Dating

Enter Mr. Librarian

I’m finally ready to talk about Mr. Librarian.  I have been quiet thus far because it’s still new, I really like him, and I haven’t decided how much I am comfortable sharing with the world.  This is new territory for me because I haven’t been seriously involved with any of the men that I have written about on here in the past.

Mr. Librarian and I met through my roommate’s boyfriend.  When my roommate first told me about him 4-5 months ago, I immediately wrote him off because of how much older than me he is.  As I have made painfully obvious, I have not had much luck with men as of late, and so when my roommate said Mr. Librarian would be coming to her birthday party at the beginning of October, I figured it couldn’t hurt to meet him.  We seemed to hit it off, and even though I was still a little wary, I gave him my number.  He CALLED me and asked me out on an ACTUAL date (with a planned activity and everything.)  This may not seem like a big deal to some, but for many of my generation, it’s almost unheard of and earned him big points.  I have lost count of the number of times I (and my friends) have been texted with “Hey, wanna get a drink? ;)”  And that’s actually eloquent, comparatively speaking.

So we went to First Saturday at the Brooklyn Museum (where I let my art nerd flag fly) then dinner and there was some kissing.  Since then, we’ve been out every weekend.

The Ultimate Librarian: Rupert Giles

So now I am completely out of my league.  I haven’t had a boyfriend or dated anyone seriously in 5.5 years, and since that relationship started out in college, we basically fell into it.  I am terrified of messing this up and have very little self-confidence because of my lack of experience.  He’s also older than me by quite a bit and is therefore more established in his life.  I can’t help but wonder what he sees in me.

I know that none of my insecurities are helping, and I am trying to power through and not focus on them.  I know (in the tiny, rational portion of my brain) that I am worthy of being in this relationship and that I need to let things unfold at their own pace and not obsess over shit.

Question of the day is: how exactly do I do that???

I’ll leave you with some librarian humor.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Enter Mr. Librarian

  1. I have no answer to your question, having struggled with the same issues over and over, but if you figure it out- please let me know. 😉

    Posted by Losing My Cents | November 15, 2012, 11:09 pm
  2. Just enjoy! Don’t worry about the the relationship or what you know and don’t know. I’m sure he realizes he has more experience than you do, and if you are unsure about something, talk about it with him or with friends.

    Posted by bossymoksie | December 5, 2012, 2:48 am
  3. Is a question I ask myself too. So far, I haven’t found the answer. And I totally feel you. I’m 24 and I’ve been on my first proper date last Friday. 😛 It was really nice 🙂 Don’t understand why people don’t do this stuff anymore :/ It’s sad :/

    Posted by nea barabea (@neabarabea) | March 25, 2013, 3:13 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

