//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me

Renewing a challenge

Recently, I’ve been going through one of those periods when I feel restless and lackluster about life.  I never know when they’re going to hit, but this time, I think it’s partly because I was so busy and am now in a lull (not that I’m complaining about some free time.)  Last week I saw a post by Josie Matthews over at Chick Swagger called Ten Things You Need to Do for Yourself!, and as a result, I am trying to recommit to myself and my life.  The following is an edited verision of Josie’s list from her post with my responses in italics.

1.  Give up a grudge.

If you carry around grudges, you end up looking like this.

I’ve been trying give up a few different grudges that I’ve been carrying around for some time.  It’s more difficult than I would like to admit. 

2. Take your significant other to a motel for the night. – If you’re single…GO OUT ON A DATE!  I don’t care if it’s a dating site…a singles event…something safe, but somewhere that you can meet other singles.  Stop being afraid…you don’t have to marry the guy (or girl)!!!!!  Just meet people and make friends!  And if you’re brave…find a bad-boy!  They are so much fun….

I have made some mediocre attempts at dating in the past few months, but, as many of my friends have said, I haven’t really been trying.   Tonight I plan on posting a new profile on a different online dating site and trying it out plus revamping my okc profile.  We shall see…

3.  Buy an outfit that is TOTALLY YOU

Love this necklace!

This is on my to-do list although I have been doing better.  I have been known for years for my copious amounts of black clothing with a few other solid (dark) colors thrown in.  I live in t-shirts, jeans, and chucks with skirts thrown in in the summer.  All of the silhouettes are the same (I’m the person who will buy the same shirt in 5 different colors.)  Recently, I’ve been buying patterns and trying to buy some bigger, funky jewelry.  I feel like I always try to hide in my clothing, and I want to try to come out of my shell with different clothes and jewelry.

4.  Eat out alone

This isn’t what Josie meant, but I like this photo.

I haven’t done this in a long while, but I have in the past, and it’s pretty fun.

5. KARAOKE!

Now that’s a singer!

I went to a karaoke birthday party last Tuesday, but I didn’t sing, so I don’t think that counts.  I really hate singing in front of people.  This place was live Karaoke with cheap margaritas after 10pm so I might be persuaded to get up there (with a group) in the future.

6.  Volunteer

For at least 2 years I have wanted to join Free Arts NYC which “provides under-served children and families with a unique combination of educational arts and mentoring programs that help them to foster the self-confidence and resiliency needed to realize their fullest potential.”  They have a mentoring program and buddy day program that I have always wanted to try. Now’s my chance!

7. Host a happy hour and invite people who you don’t usually socialize with.

This would be a challenge for me so I’m choosing to push myself in a different direction.  I’ve joined some “meet-up” groups in the city.  I have done this in the past, and it’s always fallen apart because I get so nervous about actually going to the events.  My challenge will be to go and participate!

8. Change your hairstyle

It’s not a huge change, but I got bangs.  I have always wanted to put red or purple streaks in my hair.  I still intend to do it at some point, but I think I need to figure out some additional employment first.  I also need to visit my friend who promised to do them for me.

9. Take a short vacation – to a place you have always wanted to visit. Doesn’t have to be far…just go!

I need to start saving to do this.  Not sure where I would go, but I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately.  I think I want to go by myself, though.

10. Buy a Vibrator

Yes, it really is a vibrator.

Own a few. I’m set in this department.

11. Tell your sig-other 3 places he needs to touch you and how he needs to touch you there to turn you on!!!!!

I don’t have a significant other at the moment so I’ll work on this in the future.

I also want to add one of my own – EXERCISE.  I know that I’ve said this so many times before, but I need to focus a bit on my health.  I’ve been eating a lot better and walking a lot, but exercise is key.

I need to kick myself into gear.  I’m going on vacation for a week and a half starting next Wednesday so I’m not sure how much I can get done before I leave, but I know that I need to change a few things in the coming months.  I also need to find some peace with where I am in my life.  I know some of these feelings come from the fact that I expected to be in a certain place by twenty-seven, and I’m not there.  I’ve come a long way towards accepting my place in life, but I still have a ways to go.

Challenging myself was the initial purpose of this blog so I am happy to be recommitting myself.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Renewing a challenge

  1. Everyday should include one or more of these things! I love this list.

    Posted by bossymoksie | July 18, 2012, 9:34 pm
  2. Hey girl,
    I’ll let Josie know you appreciated her post! Thanks for visiting our blog! 🙂
    Chick Swagger love!
    Misty 🙂

    Posted by Misty Dietz | July 19, 2012, 11:04 pm
  3. Hey there artgirlnyc!!!! Im so excited that my post inspired you! I clicked with so many things you mentioned in your post. I’m a TON older than you and Im not sure if I’m where I want to be in my life. At 50 I still struggle with my confidence as a woman, friend, family member and co-worker. My mother promised me years ago…Honey, once you hit 40 you wont care what people think…you’ll be your own person! Ummmm…I guess Im a late bloomer but like you I refuse to give up. Hence…time to stretch the boundaries and see what we are made of girl!!!! Im so freaking impressed with the thought you’ve put into the ‘ten things’! Stay motivated, keep a journal, and be your own person. I’ll be working on finding that peace with where I am in life right along with you and millions of other amazing women. I think we will always ‘have a ways to go.’

    PS LOVE the bangs! and love love love the necklace!!!! AND…I went line dancing last night and RODE A MECHANICAL BULL WITH A DRESS ON!!! Talk about a stretch! Ill be posting pics on Chickswagger!!!!

    Love Josie

    Posted by Josie Matthews | July 20, 2012, 12:32 pm
    • Thanks so much for commenting! I failed and forgot to even tell you about the post. Thanks for the compliment about the bangs. I’m trying to love them.
      I actually went bull riding a few years ago, and it was insanely fun! I can’t believe you did it in a dress. Can not wait to see the pics!

      Posted by artgirlnyc | July 21, 2012, 12:19 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

