//
you're reading...
Family

Weekend date with sister girl

It’s been an “I live in an awesome city” weekend.  My sister visited me from Philadelphia so I’ve been playing tour guide for the past few days.  She’s 21 now so we could drink when we went out (a plus,) and we got to do some of the New York things that I don’t take advantage of because I’m too lazy busy.  Friday night our cousin invited us to a wine tasting at his friend’s apartment.  It was a little intimidating because the apartment was more beautiful than I could ever dream to have, everyone worked in finance (“Aw, you teach art? How…lovely,”) and knew a great deal about wine.  But still, what makes you feel more grown up than wine tasting in a fancy midtown apartment?

Then on Saturday, we went to MoMA PS1 Warm Up.   It’s a hipster playground in Queens with beer, music, and some truly awesome people watching. We went too early so we burnt out before the party really started, but we did get to see this guy:

He’s wearing a glue on jewels tank-top!

And Wendy by HWKN:

I think I need to go back at some point to fully experience the number of people packed into the courtyard, dancing to the music.

Last night we ate fancy grilled cheese at The Queens Kickshaw and bar hopped.  We went out in my neighborhood so we didn’t have to deal with a commute and could spend more time enjoying ourselves.  I don’t understand people who will only go out in Manhattan.  I love Queens!

We didn’t get a chance to do anything today because we woke up late, and she accidentally bought the wrong time bus so our time was cut short.  I had to go to the street fair by myself on the way home and eat my way through it.

I was sorry to see her leave today, but I will see her next weekend when I visit my parents.  I’m grateful to have her in my life and to be able to share my life with her.  We had some really great chats (especially about our love lives) and made some fun memories.

On a separate note, I’d like to thank those who gave me advice and counsel in my last post on my current hatred of dating.  Your support and effort made me smile and have given me a little faith.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Weekend date with sister girl

  1. You sure make a decent tour-guide.

    I usually go to Queens a lot opposed to downtown when it comes to nice chilled spots and bars.

    Posted by Socialkenny | July 13, 2012, 2:09 pm
  2. Always nice to hang with the girls. That grilled cheese looks too yummy!

    Posted by Nifti | July 26, 2012, 2:33 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

