//
you're reading...
Art Fever

Inspiration of Cezanne

I live in the culture capital of the world, but I do not go to museums nearly enough, especially since my corporate membership expired in December.  I have missed some big exhibitions recently, and I need to change that.

That being said, I have been to the Met quite a few times in the past few weeks, including yesterday.  I had the opportunity to check out some of their special exhibitions and to just wander and enjoy myself.  Sometimes I forget how much art can move and inspire me and it’s important to reconnect with that.  I hate going into the Modern and Impressionist Galleries because they’re always so crazy with tourists and tour groups.  Everyone wants to see the Van Goghs, Renoirs, and Monets (as well they should,) but I don’t always want to deal with the crowds.  Yesterday, I did and didn’t regret a second of it.

I spent twenty minutes in front of this painting:

Paul Cezanne, Mont Sainte-Victorie ca.1902-06

I love the work of Paul Cezanne, especially the color that he uses.  I studied abroad in Aix-en-Provence, where Cezanne lived and was able to visit some of the places where he painted as well as his studio.  I think that that experience is one of the reasons I always feel so connected to his work.  I have an emotional connection to the colors and the place.  His brushstrokes invigorate me and make me want to paint and do great things.

I am so grateful to live in a city where I can go to see all kinds of art at any time.  I can see masterpieces that I studied in school and books.  I can see work that inspired other artists to create great things.  I can see work by emerging artists, some completely underrated.  I can even go to artists’ studios to see works in progress.  This is what I am passionate about, and it’s nice to be reminded of that passion in a city that I love.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

