//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Family

Fatherly Relationship

I finally had a chance to go home this weekend (yay for not working Saturdays again until the fall.)  It was a lovely and far too short weekend with my folks, and I’m happy that I got the opportunity to celebrate Father’s Day with my Dad.  My Dad and I have a difficult relationship.  We are both too much alike and too different at the same time so we never talked much when I was growing up. We just didn’t have any type of relationship.  I always felt pressured to be the best in school, as well.  He is an extremely intelligent and driven man who isn’t great with the emotional stuff, and I never felt like I could live up to his expectations.  I worked for him at his office off and on for over eight years, and that didn’t exactly do wonders for our relationship.  He has a temper, and I have never dealt well with people who raise their voices when they become angry.  Always scared me. We were just never able to get close.  Now that I no longer live with my parents, I am able to see everything that my Dad has done for me more clearly and how much he loves me.  It doesn’t erase past experiences, but I try to focus on the future and celebrate the love that he does share with me.  He has always tried to come to any type of event, ceremony, or activity that he could when my sister and I were growing up (and continues to do so.)  If either of us needs anything electronic, he always wants to spring for the best, no matter the cost.  I know he is proud of us for what we do; he just isn’t always good at showing it.  At the end of the day, I know he loves us, and I am grateful to have him in my life.

As my family was sitting around the table earlier having dinner, I remembered just how lucky I am to have all of them.  A friend of mine lost his Dad a little over a year ago, and he has been in my thoughts today.  I am sure that he is not doing well.  One of my best friends from college lost her Dad five years ago, and I know that today is always difficulte. So take a moment today to be grateful for what you have and show some love to those who have lost it or never had it.  It’s a very difficult day for some.

Happy Father’s Day!

And to not add on too sad a note – tomorrow’s post will be on the sexiness of musicians and why we find them appealing.

Discussion

One thought on “Fatherly Relationship

  1. your blog makes me smile so I have nominated you for an award. (hope it doesn’t take up too much of your time :o) ) more details here: http://howtoonlinedate.wordpress.com/2012/06/18/for-muah/

    Posted by howtoonlinedate | June 18, 2012, 5:13 pm

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers

