//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Dating

Finally a reason or 10

Happy Sunday (or Monday, depending on your time zone.)  I had an awesome day with my Mom and am so grateful because sometimes a girl just needs her mom.  I need to head to bed soon to be ready for my exhausting week of teaching, but I wanted to take a moment to mention an article on Jezebel’s website today titled 10 Very Good Reasons You Aren’t Married Yet.  The entire time I was reading it, I felt like shouting, “YES!” (especially since there have been so many books and articles written lately that blame women for not getting married.)  Here’s the short list of their points – my comments in italics:

1. You are focused on your career. Maybe it’s me, but I don’t understand women who aren’t, at least to some extent, focused on their career.

2. You have standards. Again, who doesn’t?  Actually, I know people who don’t, and they routinely tell me that my standards are too high.

3. You can’t afford it. Weddings are expensive, and I have no desire to pick out flower arrangements, color sets, or custom china.

4. You are waiting until all people can get married. Amen.

5. You don’t need or want a symbolic public ceremony to celebrate something you already have. Can’t really comment since I don’t have it, but I do get where they’re coming from.

6. You’ve got a life and friends that you are happy with.  This is something that I always need to remind myself of because it’s so damn true.

7. Monogamy just doesn’t work for you. It works for me, but I know people who don’t enjoy it.

8. You are sexually liberated. Damn right I am! (while monogamous)

9. You have “issues.” Yes, I do, as does everyone else I know. Baggage makes dating fun…

10. You legitimately just don’t want to get married. I feel this way 50-75% of the time.

Take a moment, read the whole thing, and enjoy.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 197 other followers

