//
you're reading...
Art Fever, Daily Life of Me, General, NYC

Life Changes in Art

For the past year and a half, I have run the gallery at a non-profit artists’ collective in Long Island City.  I have been frequently frustrated but have loved it also.  I have found some of my best NYC friends and really don’t know where I would be without this group of people and this place.  Honestly, probably not in a good place.

All of our spaces are donated, and the donor is taking the gallery space back.  We knew it was coming, but now it is both official and soon (less than a week.)  It’s the end of a huge part of my life.  I will still be involved in the organization but not in the same way.  The gallery has become a home for me, and I am going to miss it.  Losing it means finding another artistic outlet in NYC and losing a part of myself.  I’m not good with change, and this is a huge change.  Moving the work and studio space (part of the gallery) to another location will take up a lot of my time in the next week.  So will mourning the loss of this period of my life.  I’m trying to allow myself to mourn and accept these changes, but it’s going to be hard.

Do you deal with change well?

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 196 other followers

