//
you're reading...
Daily Life of Me, Family

Halloween isn’t the only scary thing in town

This past weekend, I finally met some of Mr. Librarian’s family. We’ve been dating for a year, and I’m not gonna lie, I was in full on panic mode starting to worry that I hadn’t met anyone in his family.  He met my family in May, and he met extended family in August.  It was time to share and share alike.

So this weekend, at a Halloween party, I met one of his sisters, her family, and his mom.  And the world didn’t implode.  Well, I had to wear a Halloween hat to be “festive”, but I rocked it, so it’s all good.  Everyone was really nice, and even though it’s always a little strange to see people with their family, I had a fun time.

As I think I have mentioned, Mr. Librarian is slightly older than me. Well, ah, he’s 16 years older than me. And has twin soon-to-be 6 year old boys.  And most of the time, I forget about the age difference, and I’m getting closer to his boys.  But standing in his sister’s house, with her three children, one of whom just graduated high school, I felt young.  I have been underemployed for years and have just recently gotten a full-time gig.  I live in an apartment with 3 other women and two cats.  In a lot of ways, I still live like a college student, and while I’m trying to move past that, I realize that Mr. Librarian is more advanced in life (no pun intended.)  And his sister really reminded me of that.

The thing is that that’s not necessarily a bad thing.  I’m going to my 10 year high school reunion on Saturday, and thanks to Facebook, I know that at least half sixty percent of my class is engaged or married.  There are a number of people with kids, as in multiple children.  My friends have grown up, and it’s time for me to do the same.

So that’s what I’m trying to do.

Discussion

One thought on “Halloween isn’t the only scary thing in town

  1. Age differences can create some conflict, but it can also keep things fresh and interesting, too. Really, it boils down to shared values and how your hearts meet each other. Congrats on taking it to this next level – it’s proof that he really cares for and trusts you. :)

    Posted by Misty Dietz | October 24, 2013, 2:42 am

Leave a Reply

Categories

Goodreads

Play with me on Twitter

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 193 other followers

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 193 other followers

